About Organiser

Indira Gandhi National Open University

The Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU), established by an Act of Parliament in 1985, has continuously striven to build an inclusive knowledge society through inclusive education. It has tried to increase the Gross Enrollment Ratio (GER) by offering high-quality teaching through the Open and Distance Learning (ODL) mode. The University began by offering two academic programmes in 1987, i.e., Diploma in Management and Diploma in Distance Education, with a strength of 4,528 students. Today, it serves the educational aspirations of over 3 million students in India and other countries through 21 Schools of Studies and a network of 67 regional centres, around 2,667 learner support centres and 29 overseas partner institutions. The University offers about 228 certificate, diploma, degree and doctoral programmes, with a strength of nearly 810 faculty members and 574 academic staff at the headquarters and regional centres and about 33,212 academic counsellors from conventional institutions of higher learning, professional organisations, and industry among others.

IGNOU Regional Centre-Jorhat

To provide access to higher education to all segments of the society and to offer high-quality, innovative and need-based programmes at different levels, IGNOU established the Jorhat Regional Centre in 2013 covering 13 districts of upper Assam(Hojai, Nagaon, Golaghat, Jorhat, Dibrugarh, Sivsagar, Charaideo, Tinisukia, Dhemaji, Lakhimpur, Biswanath, Sonitpur and Majuli). To reach out to the disadvantageous groups, RC-Jorhat has been adopting various methods and now serving educational aspirations of more than 14000 learners through 26 study centres spreading over the 13 districts.

CSIR-North East Institute of Science and Technology

North East Institute of Science and Technology, Jorhat, Assam, a constituent establishment of Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), New Delhi, has been engaged in multidisciplinary R&D work relevant to the country in general and North Eastern Region in particular. The CSIR- North East Institute of Science and Technology, formerly (RRL), Jorhat was established in the year 1961 as one of the multidisciplinary laboratories of Council of Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR) under its Chemical Science Group of laboratories. Its major thrust of R&D activities has been to develop indigenous technologies by utilising the immense natural wealth of India.

Krishna Kanta Handiqui State Open University

Krishna Kanta Handiqui State Open University was established to provide quality higher education through open and distance learning to reach the unreached of the society by an act in 2005 enacted by the Govt. of Assam. The University Grants Commission has empowered the University to award degrees and it is the fourteenth of its kind along with IGNOU and the only state Open University in the whole of NE India. The main aim of the university is to develop and provide easily accessible modes of quality higher education and training with the use of latest educational inputs and technology. The very purpose of the University is to promote education to reach the unreached through the Open and Distance Learning System and the motto of the University is ‘Education Beyond Barriers’ of age, academic background and geographical boundaries. The University has been offering several academic programmes. At present the university is offering around forty academic programmes in Humanities, Science, Social sciences and professional areas, such as – Ph. D., Masters, Bachelors’ degree, Diploma and Certificate programme.